24 Months Later

Brian Wong
4 min readMay 9, 2022

--

Taken back when I was still in school

Every male citizens of Singapore is required to perform National Service however, one’s experience might differ from the other. I enlisted in June 2020 and I wasn’t enthusiastic about it. I lived a very different life back in 2019 to 2020 than I do now. I was a freelance creative working odd hours while pursuing my career ambitions in Singapore’s media scene.

Upon entering National Service, I encountered some serious personal difficulties and the regimental environment in the military was also a challenge for me. It was out of my comfort zone but I do believe that I did tried my best to keep an open mind throughout the past 2 years.

After all, I had to go through with it.

I wasn’t really happy throughout the 2 years nor did I interact meaningfully with my peers. I had friends who enjoyed their National Service, however being overwhelmed with my own personal struggles, I did not feel the same resentment as them.

I am thankful for all the support that I received from my superiors in the service. They are the ones that encouraged me to seek for help. After seeking professional help for my personal issues, I come to understand important things in my life (the positive results of therapy). I am still working on those issues and being better every single day.

I lead a more quiet and mundane lifestyle right now while adhering to a somewhat fixed daily routine.

The Things I Learnt In National Service

National Service have taught me personal growth, adaptability, social skills and figuring out the right time to ask questions (I am still struggling with a few these but I am getting there).

I have a habit of asking “why” questions when it comes to different situations, I am always curious to understand the reasoning behind a specific action or request. To understand what I meant by asking “why” questions, you should read this article.

It’s kind of dumb but it was only a year later, when I understood why servicemen are taught to follow all orders without debating the order of a superior.

Going through National Service have certainly changed my life.

What I Wished I Knew

Other than understanding when is the appropriate time to ask questions. Here are some other things I wish I knew(or be consistent with) before I enlisted.

  1. Save Your Money

Although you may not be earning money prior to enlisting, you should start saving as soon as you receive your first allowance from the service. I regretted not saving more back when I was getting paid as a freelancer, you never know when you might need additional cash.

It’s one of the few reasons why I needed to crowdfund my upcoming trip to New York, read more about it here.

2. Keep Learning and Doing

Planning to pursue a degree? Keep learning during your free time or during the weekends?

Unsure of what you want to do after your National Service? Figure it out during the 2 years.

2 years can seem long, and your personal schedule may interfere with your long-term plan. Considering a timetable that segments learning and recreation might help you make the most out of your 2 years. It may also be the right time to pursue your passions on the side while following the guidelines given by the government.

While I am not a believer in traditional education pathways, I have heard from people that they regret starting too late or not researching key application dates.

Start planning your time wisely.

Conclusion

I will not miss the times I spent in the military, but we all have to play our part for the nation. I am ending my service in a few days and I will be spending my time exploring Web 3 and focusing on my career.

Everyone has a different view of National Service, all of these are my personal opinions. Feel free to leave a comment to start a discussion around National Service, or to add additional things that one should know before entering the service.

If you want to support me

I am crowdfunding my first solo trip to New York, US. If you are interested in supporting me, do read the article below and consider donating to my crowdfunding campaign —

Thanks for reading this article! Leave a comment below if you have any questions, and if you want to learn more about Web 3, creator economy, and social media strategy, be sure to sign up for my newsletter!

--

--

Brian Wong

Founder. Digital Marketer. Helping businesses leverage organic strategies to grow. Connect with me - brianwongjh2803@gmail.com.